A challenging 28 mile circular route taking you along the Kerry Ridgeway with spectacular views visiting some beautiful, remote hamlets along the way. Those on mountain bikes can take a short cut to and reduce length to 26 miles.
Mainly on quiet country roads
Bishop's Castle Community College
Bishop's Castle Town Centre
Cycling is one of the best ways to soak up the unspoilt landscapes and experience the unique features of the environment and villages of South West Shropshire. It is ideal cycling terrain: quiet lanes and country roads, with some challenging gradients that lead to spectacular views. These cycle routes have been chosen to suit a range of interests and abilities, the shortest route being 17 miles and the longest 28 miles. Cycled over a day, with a picnic lunch or a stop at a local pub, this really is a great way to explore the area.
Places of interest:
Bishop's Castle is 1.5 miles (2.4 km) east of the Wales-England border, about 20 miles (30 km) north-west of Ludlow and about 20 miles (30 km) south-west of Shrewsbury. To the south is Clun and to the east is Church Stretton. The town is within an agricultural area and has also become known for its alternative community including artists, musicians, writers and craftspeople. The surrounding area is hillwalking country and Bishop's Castle is a "Walkers are Welcome Town", gaining the award in 2008. The long distance footpath the Shropshire Way runs through the town and Offa's Dyke is only a few miles to the west.
The ancient trackway of the Kerry Ridgeway, a prehistoric Bronze Age route, runs from the town. The town has two micro-breweries, including the Three Tuns, the UK's oldest brewery, many pubs and eating places and a wide variety of places to stay in the town itself and the surrounding countryside
An ancient high-level route that since time immemorial has formed part of a link between central Wales and the English Midlands. It remained a drovers road until the coming of the railways in the 19th Century.
The Cantlin Stone
This marks the burial place of a pedlar, by the name of William Cantlin, who collapsed and died in the area in 1691. The neighbouring parishes disputed which of them should incur the costs of his burial. Bettws-y-Crwyn undertook the duty and when parishes were adjusted in 1875 gained several hundred acres on its northern boundary on the evidence of the stone.
Here is housed a stone, after which the village and the parish are named. The stone is still in place in front of the pulpit, and was used in the weighing of agricultural produce, as well as by local youths to test their strength.